Volume V: Sung Hoon’s Story: Taming of the Shrew by: Clair

IMG_1897-hoony.jpg

  • a Hoony fanfic
  • Volume V of Sechs Kies Volume Stories
  • completed

Author’s Note:

Here’s my newest version of -Sechs Kies Stories- Volume V: SungHoon’s Story.

I really hope all of you enjoyed my other stories. I think they are pretty silly, but I personally like To You I Love because it’s my favorite song from 6Kies 2nd album (#15). ^_^ This one’s also from the same album, (#18).

Kind of like To You I Love but oh well… ^_^ I hope you like this one as well!
**********

Part 1

[ BahnPo, Seoul, 1985]

“AHHHHHH!! Get away from me!” exclaimed Sunghoon as he ran as fast as he could. A girl was chasing behind him.

“Give me my shoe back, you dork!”

“No~no~no~!!!” Sunghoon was trying to escape from this monstrous girl but it was no use. She was bigger than him and she had longer legs. She finally grabbed his shirt and knocked him down, trying to snatch her shoe back.

Jiyong sighted this outrageous scene and rushed over.

“PaikDaNa, stop it!! You too, Sunghoon! You guys are acting like idiots!!” yelled Jiyong. He gave an evil look to Dana which made her release Sunghoon.

At this opportunity, Sunghoon slammed Dana’s head w/ her shoe he was holding.

“KangSungHoon!!!” screamed Dana. Sunghoon stuck his tongue out at her and started running away again. When she was about to chase after him, Jiyong quickly seized her and grabbed her wrist.

“No!” said Jiyong firmly. Dana stared at the ground. Tears started forming in her eyes. She spoke, “How come you always take his side?? I thought you were my best friend…”

“I am your best friend,” said Jiyong. “But so’s Sunghoon. I can’t always let you hit him like you always do.”

“But he’s the one who started it!” protested Dana. “He always makes fun of me cuz I don’t live in a two-story house like he does. He always brags about his toys and how I dress like a bum. He’s a stupid moron and I hate him, I hate him, I hate him!!”

She pushed Jiyong out of her way and walked away. Jiyong looked at her and sighed. He then saw from other direction his noona, Yoori. She was a 7 year-old girl, 1 year older than him and she babysat for Sunghoon, Dana, and Suwon.

“Did Sunghoon and Dana fight again?” asked Yoori to Jiyong kindly.

“Yeah~ I dunno what to do anymore. I just wanna be friends with both,” replied Jiyong with whiny voice.

“You can’t help it, they’ve been fighting ever since they knew each other.

It’s okay, Jiyong,” comforted Yoori as she patted his head.

“Dana’s pretty~” said Jiyong shyly. Yoori smiled.

“Oh, you like her?”

“No, no!” objected Jiyong. “I just don’t know why Sunghoon keeps on hating her. I can never hit a pretty girl like Dana….”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

[12 years later]

“STOP FIGHTING, pleeeeeeeease!!!!!” Suwon literally had to split his two friends apart in order to stop the quarrel.

Dana and Sunghoon stood still, glaring at each other fiercely. Suwon sighed hard.

“It was his fault, KangSungHoon you spoiled brat!” yelled Dana. Sunghoon

stuck his tongue out and replied, “Shut up, you uncute tomboy!”

“Both of you, SHUT UP!” screamed Suwon. Dana and Sunghoon froze when they heard him scream.

“It’s nobody’s fault. I must use the line from ‘Armageddon,’ by Liv Tyler.

”I know and understand that you two are naturally handicapped by your immaturity~, but it’s about time to be a little more nice to each other, okay?”

“NO!” yelled both Dana and Sunghoon. “JangSuWon, you’re never on my side!” said both of them simultaneously. Then Dana walked away.

Sunghoon stared at Suwon for 2 seconds. Suwon started becoming really nervous.

‘Why is he looking at me like that?’ he thought to himself. Then Sunghoon walked past him, as he whispered in Suwon’s ear,

“You keep away from her, JangSuWon.”

Part II

[Hallway conversations among girls]

“KangSungHoon aka Mickey (or Rickey, whatevs): Cute, popular, handsome, sweet, kind, etc…. I soooooo wanna go out with him!”

“NO Way! He has like 10 million girls waiting in line for him. Did you see his new girlfriend? She’s alright.”

“What?! He has a new girlfriend? Already?”

“Haven’t you heard? He switches like every week!”

The girls hushed when they saw Jiyong and Sunghoon walking by. Jiyong chuckled and hit Sunghoon with his elbow.

“They are talking about you again, Sunghoon.”

“Of course! I’m only the most popular guy at this school, ye know,” replied Sunghoon sarcastically, “don’t they have better things to do?”

“Well, it’s true though… you do go out with 10 million different girls each week just to make what’s-her-name jealous…” said Jiyong as he smiled.

“Be quiet! You’re not supposed to say that!” responded Sunghoon furiously, “the whole school’s gonna make fun of me when they find out….”

“Well, you are the one who threatens Dana all the time that you’d reveal that you guys are married!” replied Jiyong as he kept on smiling.

Sunghoon stuttered as he tried to find something to say.

‘”Bu..but I do that so I can stop her from dating other guys!”

“Oh, so it’s okay for you to go out with 10 thousand girls and she can’t date other guys? Your maturity level is at a 0, you know… uhhhh!” screamed Jiyong as Sunghoon punched him in the stomach jokingly, but hard.

“Just be quiet, GoJiYong.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

[Sunday morning]

[Wedding March]: ~Dum dum duh dum~ Dum dum duh dum~

‘I now pronounce KangSungHoon and Paik DaNa as husband and wife…’

“AHHHHHHHH!!!’ screamed Dana on top of her lungs as she woke up. “NOOOOOO!!!”

Relieved to realize that it was only a dream, Dana let out a sigh.

“Why am I having this recurring nightmare??? I am NOT married to that despicable, inconsiderate, conceited jerk!!”

But no matter how much Dana tried to deny it everyday, she was a lawfully wedded wife of Sunghoon, living in his house. How it all happened still angered her greatly. At the same time, it saddened her as well.

~Knock Knock~

“Come in~” said Dana restlessly.

The door opened and Sunghoon popped in; he was still in his pajamas.

“I thought I heard you screaming,” said Sunghoon, somewhat concerned.

“You heard right. I had a nightmare…. about YOU!!!” replied Dana with spite in her voice.

“Gee, nice way of saying good morning, Dana. Your tongue is a malicious thing,” commented Sunghoon.

“So~ how many dates do you have today, Mr. Playboy?” asked Dana sarcastically.

“Only 2. What are you doing today? You don’t have to study so much now that our college entrance exams are over. You can probably get into Korea University with no doubt,” said Sunghoon.

“Just because we are seniors doesn’t mean we can’t slack off though. Well, as an answer to your question, I’m hanging out with Suwon today,” answered Dana.

Sunghoon, at that moment, seemed quite shocked.

“With… Suwon…. alone???”

Dana rolled her eyes at him.

“Yeah, just me and Suwon. Got a problem with that?”

“Of course I have a problem with that! You can’t hang out with Suwon alone! Bring some of your girl friends along or something, but not just you and Suwon,” ordered Sunghoon.

“No! We are supposed to go see the movie ‘Promise’ today. You know how long I waited for that?!” Dana refused to listen to Sunghoon.

“Then go see it with someone else, but not Suwon alone,” said Sunghoon firmly.

“Hey, it’s not fair. I let you stop me so far, but today I’m going out with whoever I want. Besides, Suwon’s your closest friend and you know him as well as you know Jiyong! So why are you stopping me?”

“I don’t care. Take Jiyong then.”

“He doesn’t like romantic movies!”

“And I suppose Suwon does?” said Sunghoon sarcastically.

“I don’t know, but at least he wants to go see it with me! Don’t do this to me, Sunghoon. You are going out with 2 different girls today, ones I probably don’t even know, but why aren’t you letting me go out with Suwon?”

“For reasons I don’t wanna tell you…. anyway, I’m giving you 3 options. One, you’re taking your girl friends along, two, you go with Jiyong, or three, you just stay home.”

“SHUT UP!!” yelled Dana furiously as she threw her pillow at him, “YOU STUPID MORON!! You think you can control my life just because….”

Dana was interrupted when Sunghoon started yelling out for his parents.

“MOM! DAD!! Look what Dana’s gonna do today…”

“OKAY OKAY!!” shouted Dana as she stopped him, “I…. I’ll just stay home and be a couch potato. Happy now?!”

“Finally! Why didn’t you say so in first place?” said Sunghoon as he grinned.

“Just don’t tell your mom and dad. Please,” begged Dana.

“Don’t worry, I won’t,” promised Sunghoon.

Part III

[Jiyong’s house, couple hours later]

~Ring Ring~

Jiyong went to pick up the phone. It was Dana.

“Hey, Dana! I thought you were out with Suwon today!” said Jiyong, surprised.

“No! Sunghoon didn’t let me go! Jiyong~ I’m so bored! You wanna come over?” whined Dana.

“Oh, I’m sorry. Did he threaten you that he’d tell his parents if you were out with Suwon?”

“YES!! My social life is dead because of him! I wanted to go see ‘Promise’ for months now! You don’t wanna go see it with me, do you?” said Dana.

“Sorry, buddy. I’m hanging out with Jaejin and Jaeduc today,” replied Jiyong apologetically.

“Can you take me along then?” asked Dana in a sweet voice. Jiyong could never resist that voice. But not this time, he thought.

“I’m reeeaaaallly sorry. As much as I’d like to, Sunghoon would murder me if I did. Oh, they’re here now! Gotta go, talk to you later!” said Jiyong as he hung up the phone.

Dana stared at the receiver, and hung it up. Tears started to come out of her eyes. She wanted to break out completely but she was stopped by the sound of doorbell.

~Ding dong~

She wiped her tears and went to open the door. Surprisingly, there stood Suwon, with a beautiful bouquet of yellow roses.

“Suwon! What are you doing here?”

“To convince you if you still wanted to go see the movie. I’m guessing no one’s home except you, right? Here, this is for you,” replied Suwon, smiling.

Dana loved the way he smiled. Even though the smiling feature was Sunghoon’s trademark, Dana personally thought Sunghoon’s smile was disgusting.

Instead, she found warmth and kindness in Suwon’s sweet smile. She took the bouquet and smelled it.

“I’d love to, but like I told you earlier, I probably shouldn’t. I don’t want Sunghoon’s parents to find out… I’m really sorry, Suwon,” apologized Dana. But she desperately wanted to go out with Suwon.

“It’s all right,” said Suwon, dissappointed, “it’s not the first time this happened anyway. I miss the old days. We could do anything together ever since we were little, until you were sold into this ridiculous marriage to Sunghoon last year….”

“Please, don’t remind me of that. Everyday is a like a hell for me. Do you wanna come in?” offered Dana.

“No, I probably shouldn’t. Sunghoon probably would choke me to death if I ever went near you. Hope you like the roses,” said Suwon.

“Thanks, I love it. I’m very sorry… I just don’t know what to do…” said Dana as she started crying, “I was looking forward to today all week long, to spend the day with you and go see the movie… but I can’t now… and I’m so disappointed…. I’m sorry, Suwon.”

Suwon did not know what to say or do to comfort her. He hated to see her sad, but he knew that it wasn’t his place to make her feel better.

“Wait for few minutes, okay? I’m gonna go get ready,” said Dana as she stopped crying.

“What for?” asked Suwon. He was surprised.

“For the movie, of course,” replied Dana as she went in.

Leaving Suwon shocked in front of the house, Dana went inside, went upstairs and put the bouquet on her bed and got dressed nicely. She was thinking to herself,

‘No way I’m gonna listen to you today, KangSungHoon! I can do whatever I want…’

She then went back out and started dragging Suwon’s arm.

“Come on, we are gonna miss the beginning!” said Dana cheerfully.

Part IV

Jiyong was acquainted with Jaejin and Jaeduc about a year ago, through his sister Yoori. Jaejin, Jaeduc and Yoori all were freshmen at the same college.

Yoori and Jaejin were both art majors and Jaeduc was in acting.

Soon Jaejin and Jaeduc met Sunghoon, Suwon, and Dana as well. Jaeduc, at first, was particularly interested in Dana but after he found out about Sunghoon and Dana, his interest ceased to live. Jaejin and Jaeduc also met Sunghoon’s cousin, EunJiWon, who was a year older than them. JiWon was like their mentor, sort of, because he liked dancing as much as they did.

[At the cafe]

“Hey, Jiyong, so how’s Dana doing?” asked Jaeduc in his heavy Pusan sa-too-ri. He tried so hard but it never went away, so he just decided to keep it.

“Why, do you still have a crush on her?” grinned Jaejin as he poked Jaeduc.

Jaeduc frowned. “No~ just asking! I wouldn’t have an affair with a married woman, you know…” replied Jaeduc.

“Poor Dana~ she was supposed to hang out with Suwon today but Sunghoon didn’t let her,” answered Jiyong.

“If I were her, I’d just run away and never come back!” said Jaejin.

“But you know it’s not so easy for her to do that. Especially considering what Sunghoon’s parents did for her mom….” Jiyong trailed off at the end of his sentence.

“It’s sad. Everytime I hear how Dana got married, it makes me feel as if I’m watching a melodrama or something. So tell me again, Jiyong,” requested Jaeduc.

“Gosh, it seems like you’re enjoying the story more than you should be, hyung! I miss the old days where I just stopped Sunghoon and Dana from beating the crap out of each other. But now I can’t do that because Sunghoon’s her ‘husband’ and I have no right to stop him,” sighed Jiyong as he spoke, “and I can’t do anything to make her happy even though I’m her best friend…”

“Why is Sunghoon so touchy about Suwon?” asked Jaejin, “I thought they were pretty close.”

“That was before. Suwon used to tell Sunghoon about how he liked Dana since childhood, but it turned out that Sunghoon was engaged to Dana before they were born. I didn’t even know that until Dana’s mom passed away last year.

So now Sunghoon wants to keep her away from Suwon. I guess they are rivals,” said Jiyong.

“How about YOU,” said Jaeduc as he tapped Jiyong’s shoulder, “didn’t YOU used to like her too?”

Jiyong’s face turned red instantly.

“She was my first crush, that’s all!” Jiyong defended himself.

“And now she’s just a really good friend,” continued Jiyong. Jaejin and Jaeduc looked at each other and grinned.

“No really…. I dunno about Suwon, but I sure don’t like her as a girl anymore,” said Jiyong. And he was telling the truth.

“Okay, we believe you. I still don’t understand Sunghoon. Does he like her, or does he not like her? And if he does, why is he screwing around with other girls?” commented Jaejin.

“He likes her,” replied Jiyong, “just doesn’t show it, that’s all.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

[On the street]

“Hohoho! Mickey, you’re so cute! Where’d you get your hair done?? I think it looks really adorable!”

A girl was flirting with Sunghoon out on the street. They were on their way to see the movie, ‘Promise,’ upon the girl’s request.

“Thanks for liking my hair,” said Sunghoon as he smiled. Indeed, his hair was his pride.

“Oh my god! You are soooo cute when you smile!” she squealed, “why don’t you consider going steady with me, Mickey?”

“Uhh…. no thanks. You know I’m not allowed to, right?” said Sunghoon.

“Why not?! The *rule* doesn’t say you can’t! By the way, where did you get your name from?” the girl asked.

“Oh, it’s a nickname my wife… I mean, a friend gave me. She says I look like a Mickey mouse when I smile,” replied Sunghoon.

‘In reality, she hates Mickey mouse and she said I should be called a Mickey Rat instead…. but I probably don’t have to tell you that,’ thought Sunghoon to himself.

“I’ve been waiting for months to see this movie,” said the girl.

‘So did Dana,’ thought Sunghoon again. Then he looked around as the girl linked her arm to his. His eyes grew huge when he saw the person who wasn’t supposed to be there in front of the theater.

‘Suwon! What is he doing here with her?’

Sunghoon wanted to rush over to them and punch Suwon but unfortunately, he couldn’t. Soon his eyes met with Dana’s.

“Uh-oh….” said Dana as she stared at Sunghoon.

“What’s wrong?” asked Suwon as Dana grabbed his arm, motioning him to turn around and face where she’s looking at.

Suwon turned around and gasped.

“Oh shit! What’s he doing here? He’s looking right at us!” whispered Suwon.

“Relax, I’ll take care of it when I get home. Or do you not wanna see the movie and just leave?” Dana whispered back.

“I think we better get outta here,” replied Suwon slowly, “ready?”

Sunghoon was giving her an evil look, so fierce and scary that it was enough to frighten both Suwon and Dana. The girl next to him still had her arm linked to Sunghoon’s, but was looking somewhere else.

“Okay, I’m ready,” replied Dana, “1,2,3!!! Run!!!!!!”

Dana dragged Suwon’s arm and started running as fast as she could.

Sunghoon started yelling at them.

“Where the hell are you guys going??”

He then tried to run after them but by then, the girl next to him was looking at him strangely, and so did the other people on the street.

“Fuck!” mouthed Sunghoon as he continued to stare at the direction they went.

Part V

Suwon and Dana ran and ran hand in hand until they reached the Starbucks Cafe.

They went in, and were relieved to find Jiyong and others there. Jiyong stood up as soon as he saw them.

“What… what are you guys doing here??!!” querried Jiyong.

“No, the question should be, what are you guys doing here TOGETHER??” joked Jaeduc.

“Shut up, Jaeduggie hyung!” said Suwon as he panted. He was running out of breath.

“No mood for a joke,” continued Suwon, “I was out with her and we met Sunghoon and his date…. he looked at us as if he was gonna kill us or something.”

“So you guys just ditched and came here?!” shocked, Jaejin joined. Jaeduc giggled as he pointed at Dana and Suwon,

“Hey, hey, you guys are holding hands.”

The two immediately blushed and detached their hands from each other.

“What am I gonna do, Jiyong?” asked Dana in a worrying voice. Jiyong shrugged.

“Well, just cross your fingers and hope that Sunghoon won’t tell his parents, that’s all I can say. Sorry, Dana,” replied Jiyong.

“Hi, Jaeduc oppa, Jaejin oppa, haven’t seen you guys in a while,” said Dana.

“Not so good with your husband??” joked Jaeduc as he laughed. But he stopped when he saw Dana frowning.

“Sorry. Just trying to cheer you up, that’s all,” said Jaeduc. Jaejin smacked him on his head and said, “Watch what you say, dork! So what are you gonna do when you get home? Have a giant fight with Sunghoon? Do you guys still fist fight?”

“No, we stopped that like 5 or 6 years ago. But words do more damage, I think,” replied Dana.

“I’ll walk you home, Dana,” offered Jiyong as he put his coat on, “I’ll see what I can do to help you.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

[Around 7o’ clock]

Jiyong and Dana walked slowly as they closely approached Sunghoon’s house.

Dana shuddered in cold. Jiyong patted her back and comforted her.

“Don’t worry. Everything will be alright.”

“I hope so. What if Mother and Father get mad at me?” said Dana.

“They wouldn’t, since they adore you so much, even more than they like their own son,” replied Jiyong.

“That’s what makes it even more difficult for me. I don’t wanna disappoint them, but I just can’t get along with Sunghoon very well.”

“It’ll be fine,” said Jiyong as he opened the house door. Everything was completely dark.

“No one’s home? Sunghoon’s not back yet,” said Dana as she turned on the light and headed upstairs.

When she opened her room door, she found complete darkness in there as well.

She turned on the light.

“AHHHHH!!” screamed Dana. Jiyong rushed over to her.

“What are you doing in my room? You scared me, Sunghoon!” yelled Dana.

Jiyong sighed of relief.

“I want you to go home, Jiyong. I’ll see you tomorrow at school,” said Sunghoon.

Jiyong looked unsure as to whether he should leave them alone or not.

Sunghoon reassured him. ”Don’t worry, I’m not gonna do anything to her. You trust me, right?”

Jiyong looked at Dana this time. Dana seemed somewhat worried, but she smiled and motioned him to leave.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“That girl I saw you with… she seemed pretty alright,” said Dana carefully.

Sunghoon kept silence, and finally began speaking. “How dare you,” he said in a low voice, “hang out with Suwon when I told you not to?!”

“Don’t even go there, Mr.,” refuted Dana, “you can’t control my life just because we are ‘legally’ married. I’m not even dating Suwon! Why is it okay for you to go out with whole bunch of other girls when I can’t even go to the movies with a friend?!”

“Because Suwon’s not just a ‘friend’!!” yelled Sunghoon furiously. “He likes you!! Didn’t you notice?? He wants to be your boyfriend!”

“Nonsense,” said Dana as she stared at him, “I know him better and he does not like me in such a way. And so what if he did? What about all the other girls chasing after you? You can’t refuse them so you go off dating them every single day, but why can’t I have fun with a friend I’ve known for 18 years? You’re not making any sense, Sunghoon.”

” A guy doesn’t just give you a bouquet of roses because he likes you as a friend!” said Sunghoon as he sighed.

When Sunghoon mentioned roses, Dana realized that they were gone.

“What did you do with my flowers??” questioned Dana.

“I threw them away. I don’t want Suwon to ever come near you,” responded Sunghoon coldly.

“IDIOT!” shouted Dana as she grabbed a pillow and threw it at him. “Who told you to do that??!!”

“I can do whatever I want in this house,” said Sunghoon.

“I HATE YOU!! I DESPISE YOU!! I can’t stand a minute of you, KangSungHoon! I wish you’d go to hell!”

Part VI

Dana was on a verge of crying, going hysterical with her anger. She decided to let it all out tonight, by yelling furiously at Sunghoon and throwing pillows at him.

“Stop,” reacted Sunghoon very quietly to her yelling.

“You moron!! You insensitive, inconsiderate, despicable jerk!”

“Stop it,” said Sunghoon once again very quietly.

“Go to hell, you fuckin’ playboy…. ”

*!!!!!!!!!*

Dana was made shut when he slapped her across the face.

“I TOLD YOU TO STOP IT!!” shouted Sunghoon on top of his lungs.

Her face was down. Tears started rolling on her cheek, and onto the floor.

Realizing what he had done, Sunghoon stared at the hand he slapped her with. He then looked at her. Her long hair was covering her face, but he could see that she was crying.

“Hey, I’m… I’m sorry…. I didn’t mean to…. are you okay?? I just…” Sunghoon stepped up to her as he tried to apologize, but she turned around and stormed out of the room, and out of the house.

“Damn!!” said Sunghoon as he collapsed onto Dana’s bed.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~Ding dong~

Suwon went to open the door. To his surprise, there stood Dana, sobbing like a deer that was about to be run over.

“Suwon…. you live too far. Took me 2 hours to walk here.”

“Dana?? What’s the matter?? Come in!”

Dana went into the house. Suwon didn’t know what to do or say. He only knew that she had a fight with Sunghoon, this time, a big one. He realized that she probably wasn’t supposed to be with Suwon, but he led her into his room anyhow.

The two sat on a sofa, keeping quiet for a long time. Suwon finally broke the silence.

“Do you want some coffee or something? Here, I’ll go get some,” Suwon stood up but was pulled back down when Dana grabbed his shirt.

“Don’t leave me alone…. please….” whispered Dana, still crying silently.

“What happened??” asked Suwon carefully. But he expected no answer from her.

Indeed, she didn’t reply.

“… You don’t havta tell me if you don’t want…” said Suwon quietly, “but just don’t cry. I can’t stand it when you cry. It pains me too much.”

Dana wiped her tears away with her sleeve.

“I wish I weren’t born at all,” began Dana, “cuz if I didn’t, I wouldn’t have to go through this hell.”

“Don’t say that,” objected Suwon, “what would Jiyong and I do without you?”

“I hate my mom. Why did she have to do that? Wasn’t it enough that she left me and died, making me an orphan, but she had to bind me to this engagement thingy I’ve never even heard of until she died….. to a person I hated the most as I grew up. Suwon, I can’t stand him. Sunghoon…. he hates me. He thinks of destroying my life and how he can chain me in his house so he can see me suffer…. he’s a sadomasochist!”

“He’s not. He doesn’t hate you either. I know why he wants me to stay away from you. I totally understand him.”

Dana stared at Suwon puzzlingly.

“Why…??” she asked.

“Because I like you…..”

Dana’s shock when she heard that was overcome when she felt the soft lips against hers. She was drawn deeply into the kiss. Even though her conscience told her that she shouldn’t be doing this, her feelings acted past that. It was a sweet, yet very atrocious kiss Suwon was giving her… he was supposed to be only a friend. If she admitted that he liked her, she would be agreeing to Sunghoon’s statement….

“Sorry… didn’t mean to do that, but it seemed appropriate,” said Suwon shyly. “Feel any better??”

“No,” replied Dana bitter-sweetly, “made me feel worse. You shouldn’t feel that way about me. It only makes it harder for me.”

“I always dreamed of being the first one to kiss you,” continued Suwon, “but I couldn’t be the one. I almost died at your wedding last year when the minister said ‘you may kiss the bride now’ and Sunghoon did….. my heart was broken over two things…. one for losing you and the other for losing him as a friend… cuz I knew that I couldn’t stay friends with him anymore the day he got married to you.”

“……….” Dana remained silent. Suwon continued.

“So I was really happy when I moved here last year. I couldn’t bear to live next to Sunghoon, where I could see you through the window every morning when I woke up, trying to reach out for someone I couldn’t have. I tried transferring to another school as well but it didn’t work out. So I’m still stuck with you and Sunghoon.”

“I wanna divorce him,” said Dana. Suwon started laughing. Dana glared at him weirdly.

“I’m not joking, I’m serious Suwon!”

“I know, I know,” replied Suwon, ” but I didn’t expect to hear such thing from an 18 year old. Usually people in the mid-thirties say that, you know…”

“I wish I could get away… if it weren’t for his parents….”

“You shouldn’t be here, Dana. You should go back. You’ll grow attached to Sunghoon. It sounds impossible, but he likes you and you like him too, even though you may not realize it.”

“No way in the hell am I gonna like him. I curse him everyday!”

“You don’t admit it but you like him more than you like me. It just adds more pain to me, I guess. But it’s true.”

Part VII

[Jiyong’s house]

“So how’s Jaejin doing?” asked Yoori as she came and massaged her little brother’s shoulders.

“Ah~ that feels good. You’re the best, noona! Why, you like Jaejin hyung? I think you guys make a good couple,” teased Jiyong.

“Don’t kid like that. I’m more interested in Sunghoon’s cousin,” said Yoori jokingly.

“Hey, Jiwonee hyung’s da bomb! He’s so awesome, did you ever get to see him dance??”

“Yeah, yeah. By the way, Jaeduc called me couple minutes ago and told me something about the chaos between Sunghoon and Dana… is everything alright?”

“Umm… I guess. Sunghoon’s a weirdo. He goes out with all those girls to make Dana jealous, but he doesn’t let her go anywhere.”

“I know, I never understood that either. Maybe there’s a reason behind it…”

~Ding dong Ding dong~

“Jiyong, could you get the door please??”

“Sure.”

Jiyong went to get the door and was surprised to find Sunghoon, breathing heavily.

“Wh… what’s going on?? Why are you here so late??” asked Jiyong in suspicion.

“Is… is Dana here??” Sunghoon asked in panick.

“Dana?? Why would she be here?? Did something happen between you two? I thought you said…”

“She’s been gone for 4 hours… I called all her friends and asked them but they said she wasn’t there…. I called to see if she was here but someone was on the phone.”

“My noona was talking to Jaeduc….”

Yoori offered Sunghoon to come in. She looked concerned.

“No, Sunghoon, Dana didn’t come at all,” mentioned Yoori.

“What did you do to her? Is she all right?” querried Jiyong in a desperate manner.

Sunghoon hesitated to speak for a moment, but he did nevertheless.

“I… I lost my temper and accidently hit her….”

“You WHAT???!!!!” exclaimed Yoori and Jiyong simultaneously.

“And she ran out of the house… like many hours ago… and I got really worried and I started looking for her but…” Sunghoon trailed off at the end as he sighed and dug his head in his hands.

“I KNEW I shouldn’t have left when you kicked me out of your house earlier!! How dare you hit her!! KangSungHoon you….” Jiyong stood up and tried to grab Sunghoon by his collar but Yoori stopped him.

“Shush, Jiyong. Sunghoon, you shouldn’t have done that. Sure, you could beat her up when you guys were little, but ….”

“I know, Yoori noona… I realize that. I don’t know why I did that. I got so jealous when I saw Suwon at the theater with her…. and I got angry that she didn’t stay home when I told her to… but I don’t know why I hit her. I really didn’t mean to. God…. what if something happened to her?? I’m gonna kill myself if she’s hurt…”

“It’s really late and dark out there, so we should probably go look for her,” suggested Jiyong, calming down a little, “have you tried Suwon’s??”

“You think she’s there??!!” said Sunghoon as he stood up, “what is she thinking, trying to spend the night at his house or something??”

“Hey now. Don’t get all angry and imaginative,” said Jiyong, “it’s only a possibility. Suwon lives at least an hour away from here so we don’t know if she went there or not.”

“I’ll go call him right now,” Yoori went to go get the phone and started dialing.

Yoori shook her head as she hung up the phone.

“No one’s answering. Look, I think you should go home and wait for her. I’ll call you if I hear anything from her, how’s that??”

“Yeah, I think you should do that, Sunghoon,” agreed Jiyong.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“It’s past midnight, Dana. You should go home,” said Suwon as he unwrapped his arm from her shoulder.

“Can I spend the night here?? I’m too tired to walk home,” requested Dana in her sweet voice as she looked at Suwon.

“Then you should probably call Sunghoon and tell him that you’re all right at least….”

“I don’t need to do that. He’s not gonna worry about me,” answered Dana carelessly. Suwon shook his head in a disagreement.

“By now he’s probably worried to death about you. What about his parents then??”

“They’re out of town tonite, they won’t be back until I get home from school tomorrow.”

“Dana,” began Suwon in a serious demeanor. He looked deeply into her eyes, as if he had a really important message to convey through her.

“Listen. If you stay here, I’m afraid that I won’t be able to… umm…. stay away from you. Do you see what I’m saying??”

“No,” replied Dana naively. “What are you saying??”

Suwon sighed. “Never mind. I’ll drive you home now. Come on.”

Part VIII

When Dana finally got home, it was around 3 o’ clock in the morning.

‘Shoot, I only have 3 hours until I have to get up for school,’ she thought to herself as she went upstairs to her room. Without turning on the light, she fell onto her bed.

“Ahhh~” she sighed as she tried to fall asleep. Suddenly, she felt an arm above her stomach. She rustled and was about to scream… but she heard an whisper in her ear.

‘It’s me….’

‘Mickey Rat??’ Dana whispered back. He was laying on his stomach right next to her.

‘Where were you?’

‘First I think you should let go of me and go back to your room.’

Sunghoon continued to whisper. He sounded exhausted. It almost seemed as if he was talking in his sleep.

‘I’m really tired and I don’t wanna go downstairs.’

‘Fine then. I’ll sleep in your room,’ whispered Dana coldly. But she couldn’t move. Sunghoon was holding onto her too strongly.

‘Remember what you did to me earlier. Now let me go.’

‘I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to do that. We’ll talk about it more later. Right now just let me rest like this. I’ve been waiting for you all night outside and I couldn’t sleep until now’

‘He waited for me?’ thought Dana to herself. ‘What for, I wonder. I guess Suwonee’s right. Wait… no way…. why would this jerk wait for me? He hates me… or does he not? I’m confused. Should I ask?? God, I’m so sleepy!’

A midst of that thought, she was slowly beginning to doze off as well. Even though it felt weird, she felt comfortable as well. Her voice began to grow weak.

‘You are on the same bed with me. It feels gross.’

‘So what? We slept on the same bed ever since we were born, remember?’

‘That was then. It’s different now.’

‘Oh, and don’t call me a Mickey Rat. You know I hate that name.’

‘ Mickey Rat, rat, rat….. ‘

‘Can I sing you a lullaby?’

‘Whatever…….’

‘~ I will be your dream I will be your wish I will be your fantasy; I will be your hope I will be your love be everything that you need; I will love you more with every breath Truly Madly Deeply do~’

‘You have a nice singing voice Sunghoon……..’

‘When did you notice that….??’

‘Just now…..’

‘I sing for you, Dana…….cuz I like you……….’

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

[Next morning]

~RingRingRingRingRing~

“Hmm….. answer the phone, Dana…..” mumbled Sunghoon who was sleeping next to her.

Dana reached out for the phone in her sleep and picked it up.

“…..Hello…..???”

“DANA!!!!!!! YOU’RE HOME!!!”

“Oh….. is it you, Jiyong?????” Dana continued to mumble, still not awake.

“What’re you still doing home?? You sick or something???”

“What time is it……..???????”

“It’s past 3rd period, dork!”

“Oh, then it’s only 10….. 10 o’clock!!!! WE ARE LATE!!!!” exclaimed Dana as she slammed the phone down and popped up.

“WHAT!!!” exclaimed Sunghoon as he fully woke up. “Oh my god oh my god oh my god!! My parents would kill me if they find out that I ditched school today!”

“Hurry up and get outta bed then!” rushed Dana as she gathered things into her backpack.

Sunghoon stood on his two feet but suddenly felt really dizzy. His face was really pale and he felt as if the whole world in front of him was spinning.

The next thing he remembered was fainting on the floor, getting unconscious.

Part IX

[couple hours later]

‘Uhhhhhhhhhh……… I didn’t even drink last night. Why am I having a feel of hangover??’ thought Sunghoon to himself as he opened his eyes. The ceiling seemed to be spinning around, but he recovered in seconds. He realized that he was still in Dana’s bed. He also noticed that there was a wet towel on his forehead.

‘What is this thing?’ thought Sunghoon as he grabbed the towel and sat up.

His head was hurting too much. Out of nowhere he heard a familiar voice.

“Wake up time, Mr.”

“Ick!” gasped Sunghoon as he turned to his right. There he saw Dana, sitting on her rocking chair, holding a book as if she had just been reading.

She was looking right at him as if he was a pathetic dog or something.

“Wh… what in the world am I doing in here?” querried Sunghoon as he blinked his big eyes.

“You slept here last night,” replied Dana apathetically.

“Oh…. that’s right. I remember now….” said Sunghoon restlessly.

Dana continued really fast.

“And we both slept in this morning so we missed the first 3 periods and Jiyong called and he woke me up and said that we were late so we got up and I was putting my stuff in the backpack and you were getting outta bed and you fainted and I couldn’t carry you back in to your room because you were too heavy so I just tucked you in my bed and it looked like you had a cold so I went to the drugstore and got some medicine and I also put that towel on your forehead so the fever would go away.”

“That was a long sentence without a single comma,” joked Sunghoon.

“I missed school because of you. Thanks a lot,” said Dana sarcastically.

“Well, you have to stay home and take care of me when I’m sick, that’s what a wife has to do,” replied Sunghoon weakly. He was feeling really ill. “Besides, I got sick because of you.”

“Who told you to wait for me outside the house in the middle of chilly night in December??” said Dana spitefully.

“Cuz I got worried. I couldn’t sleep until you came back. Listen, I’m sorry that I hit you. I didn’t mean to do that,” apologized Sunghoon in his humblest manner.

“Apology not accepted. We’ll talk about it more when I get home from school,” said Dana as she got up, “and please go back to your room whenever you feel better. It makes me sick to see you in my bed.”

“…Wait.. you’re leaving me alone in the house??? But I’m a patient!!” whined Sunghoon.

“I see that you’re whining, so that must mean that you’re not very ill,” responded Dana coldly. Sunghoon quickly pulled her by the sleeve.

“What are you doing?? I have to go to school!” protested Dana.

“Please don’t leave me alone…. stay with me…” said Sunghoon, his voice getting softer and softer.

“Sunghoon…??” Dana was held back by his strange behavior.

“Don’t go away…. what can I do to make you stay with me?? Is school more important than me??”

She felt like answering ‘yeah’ but she refrained. Instead, she sat on the edge of her bed, facing Sunghoon. He looked so innocent with his big eyes blinking.

“Don’t ever scare me like that again, Dana. I thought something happened to you last night. Do you know how worried I was??”

‘You’re the one who started it,’ thought Dana to herself but she didn’t say anything. She kept on listening.

Sunghoon held her hand in his. His hand was warm with fever. He continued to speak in a weak voice.

“I am jealous of Suwon because you like him. That’s why I got so upset when you defended him last night. He’s been liking you ever since we were little and I was afraid that he’ll take you away from me…. even though you belong to me…. no one can have you except me. Not even Suwon and Jiyong, no matter how close they are to me….. cuz you are mine…”

Dana was surprised to hear Sunghoon’s confession, rather abrupt and confusing.

“Look, Sunghoon, I don’t belong to anyone. If my mom didn’t say that she wanted to see me in a wedding dress before she died, I shouldn’t even be in this house,” said Dana.

“So what are you saying, you’re gonna break this marriage and run away or something?? We were engaged anyway before we were even born, so we were gonna get married sooner or later,” explained Sunghoon.

“I’m sure I could’ve prevented us getting married somehow, if my mom didn’t pass away last year. But no~~~, she just had to wreck my life in the middle of my junior year in high school by having me walk down the aisle. Have you ever heard of a 17 year-old getting married??? Huh?? I thought the family engagement thing didn’t exist in our age,” argued Dana.

“I’m sure you would’ve felt differently about this whole issue if you were dealing with Suwon, and not me,” said Sunghoon weakly, but with some spite in his voice.

“Drop Suwon! He’s just a friend!” cried Dana as she tried to stand up, but she was pulled back down by Sunghoon as he grabbed her by her sleeve.

“Yeah right. I bet you were at Suwon’s last night. Isn’t that true??” questioned Sunghoon. Dana blushed because she could neither deny him nor answer him.

“You are lucky that I’m sick today,” said Sunghoon, “so I’m too tired to argue with you. Why do you dislike me so much??”

“Because you are a two-faced hypocrite who always threatens me that you’ll tell your parents if I even went near Suwon, when you date so many girls everyday,” answered Dana.

“It’s because if I don’t do that, you’re gonna run away from me. I meant to tell you later but the reason I date different girls everyday is because I work at a dating agency,” replied Sunghoon.

“You WHAT????!!!!!!!!!” exclaimed Dana as she detached her hand from his, “isn’t that like a prostitution???!!!!”

“…. I tried finding a job elsewhere but no one wanted me. So I had to get a job there. It’s not as weird as you think, Dana. All I do is just be a date for a dateless woman for one day and get paid for it.”

“You pathetic idiot,” scolded Dana, “you are corrupted! How could you be working there??!! You’re only 18! You’re still in high school!!”

“Don’t yell at me. I’m a patient, and I have a terrible migraine,” said Sunghoon. Dana quieted down, and began speaking again.

“So you let all those women get all over you?? Don’t they like… umm… kiss you and stufff??? You’re so dirty, KangSungHoon!! What’s in your brain??”

“Hey, don’t assume things too much. We’ve held hands, but that was as far as I went. I usually bailed out when they tried to do something more than that.”

“You brainless idiot, why are you doing that anyway??”

Sunghoon replied. “….. For you.”

Part X

[School]

“Hey, Suwon,” said Jiyong as he tapped Suwon’s shoulder. They started walking down the hallway together.

“Is Dana here today?” asked Suwon. Jiyong shook his head.

“Nope. Wasn’t she over at your house yesterday??”

“Yeah, but I drove her back. Maybe she was too tired or something,” said Suwon.

“By the way, Suwon, when are you gonna tell her that you’re leaving next week??” asked Jiyong.

“I planned to tell her yesterday when we were out; that’s why I insisted on going out with her yesterday even though I knew I shouldn’t…. and then there was this chaos with Sunghoon. Now I think I probably shouldn’t tell her. I’m sure Sunghoon would be happy to find out that I’m moving to America though…” replied Suwon.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“…For… ME?????” querried Dana, awfully puzzled by Sunghoon’s answer.

“Of course I have to have a valid reason for working at a place like that,” responded Sunghoon, “otherwise I wouldn’t be working there. You know how annoying it is to go out with different girls every single day, especially when I don’t even know them?? And look at the things I do… we go to movies, so that means if I had 3 dates and all of them wanted to watch the same movie, I’d be watching the same movie 3 times a day! And then we go eat; that’s why I got so fat in the past 5 months or so because I eat so much… and then we go to karaoke and of course I have to sing there…..”

“No wonder you have such a nice singing voice,” commented Dana, amazed.

“Oh, sorry. I got carried away with a little explanation there; so you wanna know why I do it, did you say?”

Dana nodded. Sunghoon went on.

“I saw this really cool necklace I wanted to give you for our one-year anniversary coming up soon, but it’s like hell of a lot of money and my parents probably wouldn’t give me money to buy it so I had to start working.”

“You don’t have to do that!” said Dana.

“But I want to. I want to make you happy.”

Dana began to feel extremely touched. And all this time, she’s been misunderstanding him, thinking that he hated her and such….

“I couldn’t stand it when you called me a fuckin’ playboy last night… you didn’t even know a jack about why I was doing it….” said Sunghoon.

“I…I’m sorry. I really didn’t know. How considerate of you…. and the whole time I thought you were just being mean to me….” replied Dana.

“It really got to me yesterday morning when you told me that you were gonna go out with Suwon. I was thinking, gee, I worked my butt off for the past few months to please you and all you’re thinking of is eloping with Suwon….”

“Suwon’s just a friend, like I said. Does Jiyong know that you’re doing this??” asked Dana.

“Not really. He just thinks I’m being weird. I didn’t think I had to tell him,” answered Sunghoon.

“I think you should quit your job. I don’t need that necklace or whatever. I don’t even like wearing jewelries, you know….And next time, I want you to tell me about these things, okay? You sometimes act so brainless, I just don’t know what to do with you, Sunghoon.”

“So am I forgiven now??” said Sunghoon cutely. Dana blushed and replied.

“I… I guess so… just don’t hit me again next time, alright??”

“I won’t, I swear. Now can you sit by me and feed me that anti-flu medicine?? I feel like my brain’s gonna explode or something.”

“Fine, fine. You whiner. Serves you right that you caught cold.”
Part XI

[One week later, at the Airport]

“I hope you die in a plane crash, JangSuWon,” said Dana as she gave him an evil look.

“Hey, don’t say that. I didn’t mean to hide it from you, but I didn’t think I could handle telling you that I was leaving….” said Suwon.

“If it weren’t for Jiyong, I wouldn’t have even known. How could you not tell me?? I might not see you for a long time and you just tried to leave like that?”

“I’m sorry…… is Sunghoon coming by the way?” asked Suwon.

“I don’t know if he wants to,” answered Dana. Suwon looked disappointed.

Jiyong comforted him.

“S’all right, man.”

“Yeah, as long as we are here~” agreed Jaeduc.

“I’m glad things are going okay between you and Sunghoon,” said Suwon to Dana. Dana’s eyes seemed to sparkle with tears.

“I’ll miss you, Suwon… a lot… write to me, okay?” requested Dana. Suwon shook his head in a disagreement.

“I’m leaving so I can start over, Dana. If I write to you, how do you expect me to forget you??”

~All passengers for the Flight 405 to Los Angeles should be aboard….~

When the announcement called for Suwon’s departure, Jaejin started gathering Suwon’s stuff.

“Time to leave, buddy,” said Jaejin. Suwon nodded.

“Bye Yoori noona. Thanks for everything,” said Suwon as he embraced her.

“Goodbye, sweetie. I’ll never forget you,” replied Yoori as she hugged him back.

“Bye, Jaejinee hyung, Jaeduggie hyung, and please say bye to Jiwonee hyung for me since he’s not here… and Dana….. take care, alright??”

Suwon leaned over to kiss her on her cheek. He then started walking towards the departure gate.

“~JangSuWon!!!!”

Suwon turned around when he heard the familiar voice of an old friend.

“Sunghoon..???” mouthed Suwon in a disbelief.

Sunghoon walked up to Suwon, and punched him lightly in his face.

“You coward,” said Sunghoon, “why are you leaving?? If you leave, you think you can avoid everything, huh?”

Suwon remained silent. He knew that Sunghoon didn’t mean any of the things he was saying. He could see that Sunghoon was just trying to hide the sadness.

He was glad to see that.

“I won’t miss you at all, JangSuWon, so have a nice life there and never come back!” said Sunghoon resentfully.

“I will miss you a lot,” responded Suwon, “take care of Dana, okay? Don’t fight too often.”

Suwon then offered a handshake. Sunghoon stared at him for a few seconds and shook Suwon’s hand.

Sunghoon kept on staring at Suwon’s back as Suwon turned around and headed towards the gate, until he completely disapperared out of sight.

Sunghoon then turned around and walked towards where the rest of the crowd was.

“Aww… that was a touching scene, Sunghoon,” teased Jaeduc.

“Shut up, hyung,” replied Sunghoon as he wiped his eyes.

“Oh my god! Am I seeing a teardrop??” Yoori teased as well.

“Noona~ not you too! Why would I cry for that jerk??” said Sunghoon.

But everyone knew that Sunghoon was feeling dejected. They all began to think about Suwon and Sunghoon’s twisted friendship since last year.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

[Next day]

~BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP~

“Hello? Did you page me??”

When Sunghoon heard the voice of Jiwon from the other line, he was extremely glad.

“Jiwonee hyung~ I paged you three times earlier! Where were you? I thought you got kidnapped in Hawaii or something!”

“Oh, I was out.”

“What, dancing the night away at the club??” joked Sunghoon.

“Shush, don’t you even go there, Sunghoon. I’ll be in deep shit if my parents find out. Don’t you dare tell aunt and uncle about me, either,” warned Jiwon.

“Oh, don’t worry. I won’t tell my parents. I just called to say thanks,” said Sunghoon.

“Ho~ so my plan worked?? Did Dana believe you??” asked Jiwon joyfully.

“Yeah~ she was sooo touched! I thought she was gonna cry or something. How did you know that it was gonna work??”

“Well… as a pro at dating, I happened to know that most girls are touched when the guys wanna do something for them. Especially knowing Dana, she wouldn’t expect you to work so you can buy a necklace for her….” said Jiwon.

“Well, that was the only way to truly Tame the Shrew like her, ye know… now she listens to me and stays home on Sundays and cooks for me and stuff…” said Sunghoon slyly.

“Wait, so how are you gonna afford to buy the necklace? I thought you were saving all your money for the ski set!” said Jiwon.

“I’m not buying the necklace. She’s allergic to jewelries, she said. So no worries,” answered Sunghoon as he grinned.

“You bastard~” teased Jiwon as he smiled, “I feel sorry for poor Dana.

She probably thinks you like her or something…”

“Hell no! Why would I ever like her?? She’s not even that pretty, and she always wants to fight me and stuff…”

“So is it a happy ending story now, Mickey Rat?? I hate happy endings, you know…”

“Shut up! Don’t call me that! And if you don’t like happy endings, get your own wife and create some sad stories, hyung!”

“Haha~ I gotta hang up now. I’ll call you when I come to Seoul in couple weeks, okay? Remember, no telling on me to my parents or your parents about me!” said Jiwon.

“No prob. Later, hyung~” assured Sunghoon as they both hung up.

Jiwon whistled as he got dressed and ready to go dance at the club. He was a DJ at a club in Hawaii, and he was employed full time there. He abandoned all his studies because of his work; he knew that his parents would drag him back to Korea if they ever found out. But he liked music more than anything else in the whole world… he wasn’t interested in studying business, like he was expected to since he was the direct heir of Eun industry in Korea.

He remembered about a week ago when his cousin, Sunghoon called him, sobbing hysterically, and told him, ‘Hyung~ Dana ran away because I did something mean to her! I can’t find her anywhere~ what do I do??? I’m gonna kill myself if something happened to her!!’

“Yeah right, Sunghoon,” said Jiwon to himself as he started his car, “you know you like her.”
Part XII: Epilogue

December 18, 1998

Today is the one year anniversary of my wedding. Around this time last year, I couldn’t believe that I was getting sold into this ridiculous marriage to the tomboy, PaikDaNa. But when I saw her at her mom’s funeral a week later, she couldn’t even cry because she was too sad… it was then I knew that I had to protect her and love her for the rest of my life.

When is she gonna ever realize that I truly like her? It’s so hard to win her heart. I’m glad Suwon left, even though I miss him like crazy. I wanted to tell him a lot of things before he left, but I guess I can’t now. Dana probably still likes him. Stupid Suwon, why did he have to take her heart along with him, even when he left? A homewrecker. I hope he never comes back to Korea. Oh, what am I saying? Back to Dana. Now she’s just keeping this relationship because she is grateful to my parents for taking care of her mom right before she passed away. I hope there comes a day when she finally decides to stay in this marriage of her own volition. Yeah, that’d be awesome. Whoopeee~! It’s snowing outside!

Jaejin, Jaeduc, and Jiyong closed Sunghoon’s diary as they started giggling. “Heeheehee~ it sounds like a second grader wrote it!” commented Jaejin.

“I know~ when is he gonna grow??” agreed Jaeduc. All three of them exclaimed simultaneously.

“PROBABLY NEVER!!!!”

—-The End—-

Leave a Reply

